This training may be of interest to petroleum firms, fire departments, and other response organizations along train routes.

While the large amounts of crude by rail did not materialize as predicted in California, highly flammable liquids are transported in quantity throughout the region (e.g., ethanol).

At the Continuing Challenge ( this year a cooperative effort to improve planning, preparedness, and response capabilities for an incident involving the transportation of crude oil and other flammable liquids by rail, a one-day Transportation Rail Incident Preparedness and Response (TRIPR) workshop will be provided.

This training was developed by the:
U.S. Department of Transportation Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) in collaboration with the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA), the U.S. Fire Administration (USFA), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), U.S. Coast Guard (USCG), TRANSCAER®, the Association of American Railroads (AAR), rail industry owners and operators, the American Petroleum Institute (API), Renewable Fuels Association (RFA) and the emergency response community to address the hazards associated with incidents involving HHFT

Continuing Challenge Awards Program

Each year, The Continuing Challenge Workshop honors excellence in the field of hazardous materials response with the annual awards program. We have a total of five awards that may be granted on an annual basis with a maximum of one award per category. This year’s deadline for the receipt of nominations is May 1.

Full details may be found in the Awards section under the Workshop tab.

The William J. Patterson Lifetime Achievement Award:
This award is presented to the individual or organization who has dedicated a “lifetime” of commitment and sacrifice in creating and/or promoting innovations and achievements in hazardous materials response, management and/or leadership.

The James H. Meidl Instructor of the Year Award:
This award is presented to the individual who has played a key role in creating and/or promoting innovations and achievements in hazardous materials training and education.

The Continuing Challenge Medal of Valor:
This award is presented to the individual(s) who has displayed service, courage, sacrifice and/or heroism “above and beyond the call of duty.” The award is open to any responder, public or private, volunteer or paid, on or off-duty that demonstrated valor while participating in a hazardous materials event.

The Robert P. Turkington Innovation and Technology Award:
This award is presented to the individual, group, organization or
other association who developed, or was instrumental in the development and/or creation of a new technology or innovation for the hazardous materials community.

The Leo K. Najarian Responder of the Year Award:
This award is presented to the individual, agency or organization who most exemplifies the spirit, ideals, essence and practice of hazardous materials response and management.

Save the Date: September 8-11, 2020

Please join us at the 31th Annual Continuing Challenge HazMat Workshop September 8-11, 2020 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento.

Instructor submission deadline – February 10, 2020

Grant application deadline – April 15, 2020

Award nomination deadline – May 1, 2020

Early bird exhibitor registration ends June 30, 2020

Student Registration opens June, 1, 2020

For more information regarding the upcoming workshop, please go to our home page for a link to our pdf Save the Date Flyer that you can download, save, and forward to other interested potential participants.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in September!

The Continuing Challenge HazMat Committee